skip to main content
Home  /  Team


CX Xiang
CX Xiang - PI

Prof. Xiang is a Research Professor of Applied Physics and Materials Science in Division of Engineering and Applied Science at California Institute of Technology. He received his Ph. D in Chemical and Material Physics in University of California, Irvine in 2009 with Reg Penner. Dr. Xiang then worked with Nate Lewis as a Postdoctoral Scholar at California Institute of Technology from 2009 to 2011. Dr. Xiang worked in Hight-Throughput Experimentation project before became the Project Lead for the Prototyping and Scale-up project in Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis (JCAP).

Sol A Lee - Postdoctoral Scholar

Dr. Lee received her Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from Seoul National University in 2021, where she focused on tailoring the photoelectrochemistry of oxygen evolution catalysts on silicon for solar water splitting. She joined the group of Prof. Xiang in 2022 as a postdoctoral fellow of the National Research Foundation (NRF) in South Korea (Sejong Science Fellowship) to study (photo)electrochemical CO2 conversion technologies and tandem devices.

Monica Hwang - Staff Scientist

Dr. Hwang received a B.S. in engineering from Harvey Mudd College in 2013, where she conducted transdermal drug delivery research with Nancy Lape. She then received a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Texas A&M University in 2019, where she conducted fuel cell research with Yossef (Joe) Elabd, exploring different materials and fabrication methods to produce a cost-efficient, high-performance fuel cell. She joined Prof. Xiang’s team in 2022 as a research scientist to investigate sustainable energy and carbon dioxide reduction and removal technologies.

Kaiwen Wang- Modeling and Simulation Scientist

Dr Wang received his Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from Virginia Tech in 2022, where he researches on corrosion and electropolishing process using both experimental characterization and multi-physics simulation. He joined Prof. Xiang's group in 2022 as a modeling and simulation scientist to study the physical and chemical phenomenon involved in CO2 capture and optimize system designs using multi-physical finite element simulation.

Mason Jang - Staff Scientist

Dr. Jang received a Ph.D. in Advanced Materials Science for University of Science Technology in 2020, where he researched the synthesis of electrocatalysts and the system of AEM electrolysis with Prof. Kyu Hwan Lee. He then conducted projects of AEM electrolyzer stacks at Korea Institute of Materials Science with Dr. Sung Mook Choi as a postdoctoral fellow. He conducted research on energy devices in Prof. Chen's group as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Waterloo in 2021. He joined Prof. Xiang's group as a research scientist to develop high-pressure hydrogen generation and high-efficiency electrolysis systems in 2022.

Zhiyuan Qi - Staff Scientist

Dr. Qi received a Ph.D. in chemistry from Iowa State University in 2018, where he researched on nanomaterials and electrocatalysis with Prof. Wenyu Huang. He then worked with Prof. Gabor Somorjai as a postdoc at UC Berkeley to investigate catalytic interfaces using operando spectroscopies. In 2022, he joined the group of Prof. Xiang as a research scientist to develop catalytic materials and study reaction mechanisms for electrochemical CO2 reduction, (photo)electrochemical hydrogen generation and compression.

JinSong Xia - Research Scientist

Dr. Xia received his BS and MS in Materials Science and Engineering from Hainan University, and then received his PhD in Mining Engineering from Queen's University. His past research focused on the application of functional materials in resource recovery and energy storage. After completing his PhD in 2023, Dr. Xia joined Xiang Research Group as a Research Scientist, working on sustainable energy and carbon removal technologies.

Projects and Collaborators (2024)

Projects and Collaborators (2023)

Projects and Collaborators (2022)

Projects and Collaborators (2021)

Group Alumni:

Zishuai "Bill" Zhang (Faculty @ Peking University); HaiYi Wang (SURF student); Cameron Morgan (SURF student); Eowyn Lucas (Membrane Engineer @ Captura); Ian Sullivan (Senior Scientist@Axalta); Lihao Han (Director@ABC International Holdings Limited); Ibadillah Digdaya (Senior R&D Engineer@Captura); Meng Lin (Faculty@SUSTech); Burt Simpson (Scientist @ Illumina); Xinghao Zhou(Engineer@Intel); Wu Zhou; Alec Ho (Graduate Student @ Berkeley); Ke Sun (Patent Agent@Henry Patent Law Firm); Yikai (Katie) Chen (Machine Learning Scientist@Visa); Rui Liu (Principal Engineer@Western Digital)